Against the Grain

Yesterday, as I was speaking with a lovely patient and catching up on our family lives, she brought up a subject that has been on my mind recently, mainly because of all the hype surrounding it lately. Children’s movies.

She spoke of the recently released to DVD movie “Moana”, and how her two year old son loved watching it so much. I told her that’s a movie we haven’t seen yet and then I told her why.

When I saw the first preview of “Moana”, I was disturbed. It highlighted a man with a magic fishhook who claimed to be a god. Paganism, now in animated, sing-a-long, plush figurine form.

She furthered my distubia with this particular film as she admitted it vastly contrasted her Christian beliefs, as well, with a single song in the film. Moana sings a tune that presents him as the creator of all things. God himself.

But that’s not the one that’s been getting all the hype. “Beauty and the Beast” is another. I did, however see this one. And I’ll admit, I didn’t feel that threatened when I saw the scenes that had been chastised over and over on social media. It seemed a little anticlimactic. Two men ballroom dancing in one scene. Another where three men were overpowered by the magical armoire that left them dressed as girls, to the horror of two, but delight of one, as he skipped away with a smile. (I actually laughed at this one).

However, it had an impact. The next day, while doing laundry, my four year old son ran into my room, picked up my bra from the clean pile stack held it up to his chest and said “Look mommy, I’m a girl!(giggles)”.  I said,” Oh you’re so silly! But no, Honey, you are very much a boy”. He then got upset and said, “Awe! But what if I wanna be a girl?”

Then it hit me. This is where it starts. A funny scene, some light gesturing, and then the questions start. Now, back in the day, this would have been an easy kill switch.  Doctor said “it’s a boy”. God made him a boy. “You’re a boy, Son”.

But in today’s time, small innocent comments like these get twisted and manipulated into “gender confusion”. Swayed parents are encouraged to allow their children to “discover” what gender they are allowed to be. The schools are forced to include it, even bathroom exclusivity has been compromised.

Not for this mom.

No, this required a very early introduction to sound doctrine. “Honey, God made you a little boy. You love trucks, and dirt, and bows and arrows and toy guns. You hold the door for mommy and other ladies and you’re always telling me how you want to protect me from the monsters like a brave boy. God made you a boy, Baby. And God doesn’t make mistakes.”

Offensive? Probably. Against the protocol to allow my 4 year old the option to explore his “rights to choose”? I guess. Non-inclusive and formative guidance? Definitely. But that’s the point. We have to help and guide them to form.

“Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it.”

Proverbs 22:6

The world is starting to be more and more dogmatic and less passively introductory with their dark agendas. It is never too early to instill sound doctrine and good moral high points that he can build upon.

If  children were inherently born with the correct coping skills and innate capacity to teach themselves how to live, grow, survive and thrive  then we would be like the snake, who’s mother abandons it shortly after laying the eggs. Or the Harp seal, who abandons her young after just 12 days, to survive on their own, where nearly 70-80% die from starvation, predators, or the elements.

Thank God we aren’t that way. My parents raised me, and I have the right to raise my son how I best see fit.

We, as parents,  are the ones with the rights. Not our kids. And not the government. I get the logic- some parents mess up big. Every parent messes up a little, because we are human. But that doesn’t mean we should start surrendering to the notion that the governing agencies, or the mass public opinion needs to be the final say on what we allow to enter their minds, shape their thoughts and dictate their future.

“I am reminded of your sincere faith, a faith that dwelt first in your grandmother Lois and your mother Eunice and now, I am sure, dwells in you as well.”

2 Timothy 1:5

Repentance of my own faults and shortcomings as a mom comes first. Surrendering myself, and the growth, development, and wellbeing of my son, to the Father comes next. Instilling him with the knowledge that has been given to me in Christ Jesus and protecting him from the lies and the strongholds that Satan is so viciously fighting for his soul with, comes last.

“There is a way that seems right to a man, but its end is the way to death.”

Proverbs 14:12

Our children need us. We are their first teachers, their strongest role models, their earliest examples. We need to stand. Talk to your babies. Don’t be afraid to go against the grain. The grain is dangerous. It is more than a fad, or a trend, or modern evolution to Progressive thinking. It is chaff in the wind- passing away, fading into darkness, and betrayal of our own morals over to evil.

“The wicked are not so, but are like chaff that the wind drives away.”

Psalms 1:4

Leave a Reply

